Board of Commissioners

 Meet the Commissioners

Find Your District

If you are interested in determining which commissioner district you reside in, you may use the County’s GIS system.

  1. Visit the Sampson County GIS District Map.
  2. Click the Layer List icon. layer list
  3. Turn on the "2021 Commissioner Districts" layer. 2021 Commissioner Districts layer 

Sampson County is governed by a five-member board of commissioners who are elected by district in partisan elections in November of even-numbered years; the members serve staggered four-year terms. Newly elected commissioners are sworn in on the first Monday in December following their election. In December of each year, the Board elects a Chairman and Vice Chairman from its members.

Commissioners are responsible for formulating and enacting policy, directing a number of governmental services, and appointing members of various boards, commissions and agencies to implement specific policies or to provide certain services. Sampson County has functioned under the commissioner/county manager form of government since 1972, whereby the County Manager ensures that the policies and ordinances adopted by the elected body are faithfully executed and that the day-to-day operations of the County are efficiently conducted. The Board of Commissioners is also staffed with an Assistant County Manager/Clerk to the Board who maintains the official and permanent records of Board actions, and a County Attorney who ensures that county government activities are conducted in a legally correct manner.

Currently serving members of the Sampson County Board of Commissioners are listed above. You may contact any commissioner by the individual email addresses provided or at the following address (please note that this will be delivered to the Clerk to the Board who will ensure it is forwarded to the board member.)